Purinethol

Ordonnance requise

Achetez Purinethol en ligne au Canada

Faites-vous livrer vos Purinethol à votre porte GRATUITEMENT

Formulaire disponible :  

COMPRIME

Nom du fabricant :  

Teva

Nom générique :  

MERCAPTOPURINE

Force :  

50MG

Qu'est-ce que Purinethol?

La Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) appartient à la classe des médicaments contre le cancer appelés antinéoplasiques et, plus précisément, au groupe des antinéoplasiques appelés antimétabolites. Elle permet de lutter contre le cancer en empêchant la croissance des cellules cancéreuses, ce qui finit par mener à leur destruction.

Purinethol Calculateur de prix et de coût

Quantité

Quantité totale de COMPRIMÉ(S)

Couverture d'assurance

Nous acceptons tous les régimes d’assurance

Quote-part estimée

$22.43  

Coût des médicaments

$101.12

Frais d'ordonnance

$11.00

Frais de livraison

Gratuit

Couverture d'assurance

$89.69

Devenir membre

(C'est gratuit)

** Le prix réel dépendra de la couverture d'assurance dans votre province

Purinethol questions fréquemment posées

Puis-je obtenir une livraison le jour même ?

Oui! Nous assurons la livraison le jour même dans certaines régions. Nous livrons le jour ouvrable suivant et pouvons également expédier du jour au lendemain.

Combien coûtent les frais de livraison pour Purinethol au Canada ?

Les frais d'expédition de Purinethol pour vous au Canada sont de zéro. Pocketpills offre la livraison GRATUITE partout au Canada pour vous aider à accéder au traitement.

Comment me faire livrer Purinethol à mon domicile ?

Vous pourriez vous faire livrer Purinethol à votre porte au Canada si vous avez commandé des médicaments sur ordonnance avec une ordonnance valide. Si vous ne savez pas si nous livrons dans votre région, contactez-nous.

Comment obtenir Purinethol au Canada gratuitement ?

Vous pouvez obtenir Purinethol gratuitement au Canada si votre fournisseur d'assurance-maladie le couvre entièrement. Contactez votre fournisseur ou nous pour vous aider à savoir si vous êtes éligible pour obtenir Purinethol gratuitement.

Purinethol Comment prendre

La Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) appartient à la classe des médicaments contre le cancer appelés antinéoplasiques et, plus précisément, au groupe des antinéoplasiques appelés antimétabolites. Elle permet de lutter contre le cancer en empêchant la croissance des cellules cancéreuses, ce qui finit par mener à leur destruction. La Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) s'utilise habituellement pour traiter la leucémie. Parfois, elle est employée avec d'autres médicaments contre le cancer.

Ce médicament est disponible sous divers noms de marque ou sous différentes présentations, ou les deux. Une marque spécifique de ce médicament n'est peut-être pas offerte sous toutes les formes ni avoir été approuvée contre toutes les affections dont il est question ici. En outre, certaines formes de ce médicament pourraient ne pas être utilisées contre toutes les affections mentionnées dans cet article.

Il se pourrait que votre médecin ait suggéré ce médicament contre une affection qui ne figure pas dans cet article d'information sur les médicaments. Si vous n'en avez pas encore discuté avec votre médecin, ou si vous avez des doutes sur les raisons pour lesquelles vous prenez ce médicament, consultez-le. Ne cessez pas de prendre ce médicament sans avoir consulté votre médecin au préalable.

Ne donnez pas ce médicament à quiconque, même à quelqu'un qui souffre des mêmes symptômes que les vôtres. Ce médicament pourrait nuire aux personnes pour lesquelles il n'a pas été prescrit.

free-delivery

Livraison gratuite

Vos médicaments vous sont livrés sans frais supplémentaires. Nous offrons même la livraison le jour même dans certaines régions.

Purinethol Posologie

La dose de Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) recommandée varie selon le trouble précis à traiter, la réponse au traitement, les autres médicaments employés, le stade de la maladie et la taille ou le poids de la personne. La dose initiale typique pour les adultes et les enfants est de 2,5 mg par kg de poids corporel par jour ou 50 mg à 75 mg par mètre carré de surface corporelle par jour. En règle générale, la quantité prescrite est prise par la bouche en une seule dose par jour.

Plusieurs facteurs peuvent entrer en ligne de compte pour déterminer la dose dont une personne a besoin : son poids, son état de santé et la prise d'autres médicaments. Si votre médecin a recommandé une dose autre que celles indiquées ici, ne modifiez pas la manière de prendre le médicament sans le consulter au préalable.

La Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) peut irriter les yeux et la peau s’ils viennent en contact avec le médicament. Lavez-vous les mains avec du savon et de l’eau immédiatement après avoir pris votre dose de ce médicament pour empêcher les particules du comprimé de se propager à d’autres parties de la peau.

Il se peut que votre médecin ou votre pharmacien vous recommande de prendre ce médicament à un moment précis de la journée. Certaines études suggèrent que le moment de la journée où on prend ce médicament a une influence sur le succès du traitement.

Il est important d'utiliser ce médicament conformément aux indications de votre médecin. Si vous vomissez peu de temps après avoir pris le médicament, communiquez avec votre médecin pour savoir si vous devez prendre une autre dose ou non. Si vous oubliez une dose, ne vous souciez pas de la dose omise et reprenez le schéma posologique usuel. N'utilisez pas une double dose pour compenser l'omission d'une dose. Si vous hésitez sur la conduite à tenir après avoir omis une dose, demandez conseil à votre médecin ou à un pharmacien.

Il se peut que votre médecin vous recommande de boire un volume supplémentaire de liquides pendant que vous prenez ce médicament pour vous aider à uriner davantage et protéger vos reins.

Conservez ce médicament à la température ambiante, à l'abri de la chaleur excessive, de la lumière directe et de l’humidité. Gardez-le hors de la portée des enfants.

Ne jetez pas de médicaments dans les eaux usées (par ex. pas dans l'évier ni dans la cuvette des cabinets) ni avec les ordures ménagères. Demandez à votre pharmacien comment vous débarrasser des médicaments inutilisés ou périmés.

Purinethol Effets secondaires

Beaucoup de médicaments peuvent provoquer des effets secondaires. Un effet secondaire est une réponse indésirable à un médicament lorsqu'il est pris à des doses normales. Il peut être léger ou grave, temporaire ou permanent.

Les effets secondaires énumérés ci-après ne sont pas ressentis par toutes les personnes qui prennent ce médicament. Si les effets secondaires vous inquiètent, discutez des risques et des bienfaits de ce médicament avec votre médecin.

Au moins 1 % des personnes prenant ce médicament ont signalé les effets secondaires ci-après. Un grand nombre de ces effets secondaires peuvent être pris en charge et quelques-uns peuvent disparaître d'eux-mêmes avec le temps.

Consultez votre médecin si vous ressentez ces effets secondaires et s'ils sont graves ou gênants. Votre pharmacien pourrait être en mesure de vous donner des conseils sur la conduite à tenir si ces effets secondaires apparaissaient :

  • de la diarrhée;
  • une éruption cutanée et une démangeaison;
  • de la faiblesse;
  • une perte d'appétit;
  • de la nausée;
  • des vomissements.

La plupart des effets secondaires figurant ci-après ne surviennent pas très souvent, mais ils pourraient cependant engendrer de graves problèmes si vous ne consultez pas votre médecin ou si vous ne recevez pas des soins médicaux.

Renseignez-vous auprès de votre médecin au plus tôt si l'un des effets secondaires ci-après se manifeste :

  • des lésions dans la bouche ou sur les lèvres;
  • des signes attribuables à de l'anémie (réduction du nombre de globules rouges; par ex. des étourdissements, de la pâleur, de la fatigue ou de la faiblesse inhabituelle, un essoufflement);
  • des signes de troubles hépatiques (par ex. de la nausée, des vomissements, de la diarrhée, une perte de l'appétit, une perte de poids, le jaunissement de la peau ou du blanc des yeux, une urine sombre, des selles claires);
  • des signes d'un saignement (par ex. un saignement du nez inhabituel, des ecchymoses, du sang dans l'urine, une toux avec expectoration sanglante, un saignement des gencives, des coupures qui n'arrêtent pas de saigner);
  • des symptômes d'une infection (par ex. une fièvre ou des frissons, une diarrhée aiguë, un essoufflement, des étourdissements prolongés, des maux de tête, une raideur du cou, une perte de poids, ou un manque d'énergie).

Cessez la prise du médicament et sollicitez immédiatement des soins médicaux s'il se produit une réponse comme :

  • des signes de saignements de l'estomac (par ex. des selles sanglantes, noirâtres ou goudronneuses, des expectorations sanglantes, des vomissements de sang ou d'une matière qui ressemble à du marc de café);
  • des signes d'une réaction allergique grave (par ex. des crampes abdominales, une difficulté respiratoire, de la nausée et des vomissements, ou une boursouflure du Visage et une enflure de la gorge).

Certaines personnes peuvent ressentir des effets secondaires autres que ceux énumérés. Consultez votre médecin si vous remarquez un symptôme qui vous inquiète pendant que vous employez ce médicament.

personalized-pocket

Emballages PocketPacks personnalisés

Nous classons vos médicaments dans des emballages individuels clairement étiquetés afin que vous preniez toujours la bonne dose au bon moment.

Purinethol Formulaire disponible

Chaque comprimé sécable, de couleur jaune pâle à chamois, portant les inscriptions « PURINETHOL » et « O4A », contient 50 mg de Purinethol (Mercaptopurine). Ingrédients non médicinaux : acide stéarique, amidon de maïs, amidon de pomme de terre, lactose et stéarate de magnésium.

Purinethol Contre-indications

Abstenez-vous d'employer la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) dans les circonstances ci-après :

  • une allergie à la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) ou à l'un des ingrédients du médicament;
  • une résistance passée aux effets de la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) ou de la Thioguanine.
automatic-refills

Renouvellements automatiques

Nous gérons vos renouvellements et prenons contact avec vos médecins pour les renouvellements d'ordonnances afin que vous ayez toujours les médicaments dont vous avez besoin.

Purinethol Précautions

Il pourrait se produire une interaction entre la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) et l'un des médicaments ci-après :

Si vous prenez l'un de ces médicaments, consultez votre médecin ou un pharmacien. Dans votre cas, votre médecin pourrait vous demander de :

  • cesser la prise de l'un des médicaments;
  • remplacer l'un des médicaments par un autre;
  • modifier la manière dont vous prenez l'un des médicaments, ou les deux;
  • ne rien changer du tout.

L'interférence d'un médicament avec un autre n'entraîne pas toujours l'interruption de la prise de l'un d'eux. Demandez à votre médecin quelle est la conduite à tenir en cas d'interactions médicamenteuses.

D'autres médicaments que ceux énumérés précédemment peuvent interagir avec ce médicament. Signalez à votre médecin tout ce que vous prenez, qu'il s'agisse de médicaments sur ordonnance ou en vente libre et de remèdes à base de plantes médicinales. N'oubliez pas de mentionner tout supplément que vous absorbez. Si vous consommez de la caféine, de l'alcool, de la Nicotine ou des drogues illicites, vous devriez en avertir votre médecin prescripteur puisque ces substances peuvent modifier l'action de nombreux médicaments.

Purinethol Avertissements

Avant d'employer un médicament, ne manquez pas d'informer votre médecin des troubles médicaux ou des Allergies que vous pourriez avoir, des médicaments que vous utilisez et de tout autre fait important au sujet de votre santé. Les femmes devraient mentionner si elles sont enceintes ou si elles allaitent. Ces facteurs pourraient avoir une influence sur la façon dont vous devriez employer ce médicament.

AVIS DE SANTÉ CANADA

Le 27 mars 2014

Santé Canada a émis de nouvelles mises en garde concernant l'emploi de Purinethol (Purinethol (Mercaptopurine)). Pour lire dans son intégralité l'avis de Santé Canada, rendez-vous vers le site Web de Santé Canada à l'adresse www.hc-sc.gc.ca.

Anémie : la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) peut causer une réduction du nombre de globules rouges. Si vous ressentez des symptômes attribuables à de l'anémie (réduction du nombre de globules rouges) comme un essoufflement, une fatigue inusitée ou une peau pâle, communiquez le plus tôt possible avec votre médecin.

Contraception : peu importe quel partenaire utilise ce médicament, il est nécessaire d'utiliser une méthode de contraception efficace, car la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) peut causer des lésions chez le bébé s'il est utilisé pendant la grossesse. Si une grossesse advient pendant que vous utilisez ce médicament, prenez contact avec votre médecin immédiatement.

Saignement : ce médicament peut jouer un rôle dans la diminution du nombre de plaquettes dans le sang. Les plaquettes participent à la coagulation du sang, et vous pourriez saigner plus facilement si elles étaient en trop faible nombre. Avertissez votre médecin si vous remarquez des signes de ralentissement de la coagulation. De tels symptômes pourraient comporter des selles noirâtres et goudronneuses, du sang dans l'urine, l'apparition d'ecchymoses aux moindres traumatismes, ou des coupures qui n'arrêtent pas de saigner.

Infection et vaccins : non seulement ce médicament tue les cellules cancéreuses, mais il peut faire chuter le nombre de cellules qui combattent l'infection dans le corps (les globules blancs). Évitez tout contact avec les personnes qui ont des affections contagieuses et signalez à votre médecin tout signe précurseur d'une infection, comme une fièvre ou des frissons, une diarrhée aiguë, un essoufflement, des étourdissements prolongés, des maux de tête, une raideur du cou, une perte de poids, ou un manque d'énergie). Indiquez également à votre médecin si vous avez été vacciné ou si vous comptez recevoir un vaccin vivant.

Fonction rénale : les maladies rénales ou la diminution de la fonction rénale peuvent causer l'accumulation de ce médicament dans le corps, ce qui provoque des effets secondaires. Si votre fonction rénale est réduite ou si vous êtes atteint d'une maladie rénale, discutez avec votre médecin de la façon dont ce médicament pourrait influer sur votre affection, de l'influence de votre affection sur l'administration et l'efficacité de ce médicament, et de la pertinence d'une surveillance médicale spécifique.

Fonction hépatique : la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) peut réduire la fonction hépatique et provoquer une insuffisance hépatique. En cas de troubles hépatiques, discutez avec votre médecin de la façon dont ce médicament pourrait influer sur votre affection, de l'influence de votre affection sur l'administration et l'efficacité de ce médicament, et de la pertinence d'une surveillance médicale spécifique. Votre médecin surveillera votre fonction hépatique par des analyses de sang qu'il prescrira régulièrement pendant que vous employez ce médicament.

Si vous observez la survenue de symptômes de troubles hépatiques comme de la fatigue, une sensation de malaise, une perte de l'appétit, de la nausée, le jaunissement de la peau ou du blanc des yeux, une urine foncée, des selles claires, une douleur abdominale, ou une enflure et une démangeaison cutanée, prenez contact avec votre médecin immédiatement.

Deuxième cancer : la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) peut endommager les gènes et les cellules normales. On a, rarement, signalé l'incidence de certains types de leucémies et de lymphomes chez certaines personnes traitées avec la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine). Discutez avec votre médecin de toute préoccupation que vous pouvez avoir à ce sujet.

Syndrome de lyse tumorale : la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine), comme plusieurs autres médicaments utilisés pour combattre le cancer, provoque la mort soudaine de nombreuses cellules cancéreuses au début du traitement. Cette action peut surcharger l'organisme de déchets cellulaires. Ainsi, le corps peut ne pas pouvoir se débarrasser de tous les déchets assez rapidement. Lorsque ce phénomène se produit, il se peut que vous ressentiez de la nausée, de l'essoufflement, des douleurs articulaires ou que vous remarquiez un brouillement de votre urine. C'est ce que l'on appelle le syndrome de lyse tumorale. Il se peut que votre médecin vous prescrive certains médicaments pour aider votre corps à se débarrasser de ses déC.E.S. Assurez-vous de bien comprendre le mode d'emploi de ces médicaments et de signaler immédiatement à votre médecin ces signes et symptômes.

Grossesse : la prise de Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) par un homme ou une femme au moment de la conception, ou sa prise pendant la grossesse, peut provoquer des anomalies congénitales. Une méthode efficace de contraception doit être adoptée pendant la prise de ce médicament. Ce médicament ne devrait pas s'utiliser durant la grossesse à moins que les bienfaits priment les risques. Si une grossesse advient pendant que vous ou votre partenaire utilisez ce médicament, prenez contact avec votre médecin immédiatement.

Allaitement : ce médicament passe dans le lait maternel. En raison des risques associés à la Purinethol (Mercaptopurine), il faudra décider soit de cesser l'allaitement ou de cesser le médicament, selon l'importance du médicament pour la mère. Les femmes qui prennent ce médicament ne doivent pas allaiter.

discreet-packaging

Emballage discret

Votre vie privée est importante. Nous expédions vos médicaments dans une simple boîte d’expédition pour que personne ne sache ce qu'il y a à l'intérieur.

Les références

Tout le matériel © 1996-2021 MediResource Inc. Termes et conditions d'utilisation. Le contenu proposé ici est à but informatif uniquement. Demandez toujours l'avis de votre médecin ou d'autres professionnels de la santé qualifiés pour toute question que vous pourriez avoir concernant un problème de santé.

La lecture a plusieurs bienfaits…

Surtout la lecture sur les bienfaits pour la santé et le bien-être.

À propos d’Ozempic
Quand commencer les pilules contraceptives
Les stérilets Kyleena et Mirena

médicaments apparentés

Purinethol

Prescription required

Buy Purinethol Online

FREE Shipping in Canada

Available Form:  

TABLET

Manufacturer name:  

Teva

Generic name:  

MERCAPTOPURINE

Strength:  

50MG

What is Purinethol?

Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) belongs to the group of cancer-fighting medications known as antineoplastics, and specifically to the group of antineoplastics known as antimetabolites. Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) fights cancer by preventing the growth of cancer cells, which eventually results in their destruction.

Canada's Leading Online Pharmacy

We make it unbelievably easy to fill prescriptions, consult with pharmacists, and order medications online

What would you like to do?

info

Refill your Purinethol prescription

Consult a doctor for Purinethol over call

Upload your Purinethol prescription

Enter your phone to save time & money

+1

By proceeding, you agree to our Terms of Use & Privacy Policy. Message and data rates may apply.

Purinethol Price and Cost Calculator

Quantity

Total no. of TABLET(S)

Insurance coverage

We accept all insurance plans

Estimated copay

$22.43

Drug cost

$101.12

Dispensing fee

$11.00

Delivery cost

FREE

Insurance coverage

$89.69

**Actual price will depend on the insurance coverage in your province

Purinethol Indication

Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) belongs to the group of cancer-fighting medications known as antineoplastics, and specifically to the group of antineoplastics known as antimetabolites. Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) fights cancer by preventing the growth of cancer cells, which eventually results in their destruction. Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) is usually used to treat Leukemia. Sometimes Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) is used along with other cancer medications.

This medication may be available under multiple brand names and/or in several different forms. Any specific brand name of Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) may not be available in all of the forms or approved for all of the conditions discussed here. As well, some forms of Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) may not be used for all of the conditions discussed here.

Your doctor may have suggested Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) for conditions other than those listed in these drug information articles. If you have not discussed this with your doctor or are not sure why you are taking Purinethol (Mercaptopurine), speak to your doctor. Do not stop taking Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) without consulting your doctor.

Do not give Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) to anyone else, even if they have the same symptoms as you do. It can be harmful for people to take Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) if their doctor has not prescribed it.

Purinethol Dosage

The recommended dose of Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) varies according to the specific disease being treated, the response to therapy, the other medications used, the stage of the disease, and the person's body size or weight. A typical starting dose for adults and children is 2.5 mg per kg of body weight per day, or 50 mg to 75 mg per metre squared of body surface area per day. The appropriate dose of Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) is usually taken by mouth as a single dose on a daily basis.

Many things can affect the dose of medication that a person needs, such as body weight, other medical conditions, and other medications. If your doctor has recommended a dose different from the ones listed here, do not change the way that you are taking the medication without consulting your doctor.

Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) can irritate the eyes and skin if they come into contact with the medication. Wash your hands with soap and water immediately after taking a dose of this medication to prevent particles of the tablet from spreading to other areas of the skin.

Your doctor or pharmacist may suggest that you take Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) at a specific time of the day. Some studies suggest that the time of day Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) is taken affects the success of the treatment.

It is important to take Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) exactly as prescribed by your doctor. If you vomit shortly after taking the medicine, contact your doctor for instruction on whether to take more medication or not. If you miss a dose, skip the missed dose and continue with your regular dosing schedule. Do not take a double dose to make up for a missed one. If you are not sure what to do after missing a dose, contact your doctor or pharmacist for advice.

Your doctor may want you to drink extra fluids while taking Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) in order to help you pass more fluid and protect your kidneys.

Store Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) at room temperature, and protect it from excessive heat, direct light, and moisture. Keep it out of the reach of children.

Do not dispose of medications in wastewater (e.g. down the sink or in the toilet) or in household garbage. Ask your pharmacist how to dispose of medications that are no longer needed or have expired.

Purinethol Side Effects

Many medications can cause side effects. A side effect is an unwanted response to a medication when it is taken in normal doses. Side effects can be mild or severe, temporary or permanent.

The side effects listed below are not experienced by everyone who takes Purinethol (Mercaptopurine). If you are concerned about side effects, discuss the risks and benefits of Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) with your doctor.

The following side effects have been reported by at least 1% of people taking this medication. Many of these side effects can be managed, and some may go away on their own over time.

Contact your doctor if you experience these side effects and they are severe or bothersome. Your pharmacist may be able to advise you on managing side effects.

  • Diarrhea
  • loss of appetite
  • nausea
  • skin rash and itching
  • vomiting
  • weakness

Although most of the side effects listed below don't happen very often, they could lead to serious problems if you do not check with your doctor or seek medical attention.

Check with your doctor as soon as possible if any of the following side effects occur:

  • signs of Anemia (low red blood cells; e.g., dizziness, pale skin, unusual tiredness or weakness, shortness of breath)
  • signs of bleeding (e.g., unusual nosebleeds, bruising, blood in urine, coughing blood, bleeding gums, cuts that don't stop bleeding)
  • symptoms of infection (Fever or chills, severe diarrhea, shortness of breath, prolonged dizziness, headache, stiff neck, weight loss, or listlessness)
  • signs of liver problems (e.g., nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, loss of appetite, weight loss, yellowing of the skin or whites of the eyes, dark urine, pale stools)
  • sores in mouth or on lips

Stop taking the medication and seek immediate medical attention if any of the following occur:

  • signs of bleeding in the stomach (e.g., bloody, black, or tarry stools, spitting up of blood, vomiting blood or material that looks like coffee grounds)
  • signs of a serious allergic reaction (e.g., abdominal cramps, difficulty breathing, nausea and vomiting, or swelling of the face and throat)

Some people may experience side effects other than those listed. Check with your doctor if you notice any symptom that worries you while you are taking Purinethol (Mercaptopurine).

Purinethol Available form

Each pale yellow-to-buff, scored tablet, imprinted with "PURINETHOL" and "O4A", contains Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) 50 mg. Nonmedicinal ingredients: corn starch, lactose, magnesium stearate, potato starch, and stearic acid.

Purinethol Contraindications

Do not take Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) if you:

  • are allergic to Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) or any ingredients of Purinethol (Mercaptopurine)
  • have been resistant to the effects of Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) or Thioguanine in the past

Purinethol Precautions

There may be an interaction between Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) and any of the following:

If you are taking any of these medications, speak with your doctor or pharmacist. Depending on your specific circumstances, your doctor may want you to:

  • stop taking one of the medications,
  • change one of the medications to another,
  • change how you are taking one or both of the medications, or
  • leave everything as is.

An interaction between two medications does not always mean that you must stop taking one of them. Speak to your doctor about how any drug interactions are being managed or should be managed.

Medications other than those listed above may interact with Purinethol (Mercaptopurine). Tell your doctor or prescriber about all prescription, over-the-counter (non-prescription), and herbal medications you are taking. Also tell them about any supplements you take. Since caffeine, alcohol, the Nicotine from cigarettes, or street drugs can affect the action of many medications, you should let your prescriber know if you use them.

Purinethol Warnings

Before you begin using a medication, be sure to inform your doctor of any medical conditions or Allergies you may have, any medications you are taking, whether you are pregnant or breast-feeding, and any other significant facts about your health. These factors may affect how you should use Purinethol (Mercaptopurine).

HEALTH CANADA ADVISORY

March 27, 2014

Health Canada has issued new restrictions concerning the use of Purinethol (Purinethol (Mercaptopurine)). To read the full Health Canada Advisory, visit Health Canada's web site at www.hc-sc.gc.ca.

Anemia: Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) may cause low levels of red blood cells. If you experience symptoms of reduced red blood cell count (anemia) such as shortness of breath, feeling unusually tired, or pale skin, contact your doctor as soon as possible.

Birth control: Effective birth control should be practiced if either partner is using Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) as Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) may harm the baby if used during pregnancy. If you become pregnant while taking Purinethol (Mercaptopurine), contact your doctor immediately.

Bleeding: Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) can reduce the number of platelet cells in the blood. Platelets help the blood to clot, and a shortage could make you bleed more easily. Tell your doctor of any signs that your blood is not clotting as quickly. Such symptoms may include black and tarry stools, blood in the urine, easy bruising, or cuts that won't stop bleeding.

Infection and vaccines: As well as killing cancer cells, Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) can reduce the number of cells that fight infection in the body (white blood cells). Avoid contact with people with contagious infections and tell your doctor if you begin to notice signs of an infection, such as fever or chills, severe diarrhea, shortness of breath, prolonged dizziness, headache, stiff neck, weight loss, or listlessness. Also tell your doctor if you have been vaccinated, or are planning to be vaccinated with a live vaccine.

Kidney function: Kidney Disease or reduced kidney function may cause Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) to build up in the body, causing side effects. If you have reduced kidney function or kidney disease, discuss with your doctor how Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) may affect your medical condition, how your medical condition may affect the dosing and effectiveness of Purinethol (Mercaptopurine), and whether any special monitoring is needed.

Liver function: Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) can reduce liver function and can cause liver failure. If you have liver problems, discuss with your doctor how Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) may affect your medical condition, how your medical condition may affect the dosing and effectiveness of Purinethol (Mercaptopurine), and whether any special monitoring is needed. Your doctor will test your liver function regularly with blood tests while you are taking Purinethol (Mercaptopurine).

If you experience symptoms of liver problems such as fatigue, feeling unwell, loss of appetite, nausea, yellowing of the skin or whites of the eyes, dark urine, pale stools, abdominal pain or swelling, and itchy skin, contact your doctor immediately.

Second cancers: Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) can cause damage to other normal genes and cells. Rarely there have been reports of certain types of leukemia and lymphoma developing in people who have been treated with Purinethol (Mercaptopurine). Discuss any concerns you may have with your doctor.

Tumour lysis syndrome: Purinethol (Mercaptopurine), like many other cancer medications, causes many cancer cells to be suddenly killed when treatment is first started. This can overwhelm the body with waste products from the cells. As a result, the body may not be able to keep up with getting rid of all the waste. When this happens, you may experience nausea, shortness of breath, notice cloudy urine or joint pain. This is called tumour lysis syndrome. Your doctor may prescribe some medications to help your body get rid of the waste products. Make sure you understand how to use these medications and report any of these signs or symptoms to your doctor immediately.

Pregnancy: There is a possibility of birth defect if either the man or woman is using Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) at the time of conception, or if it is taken during pregnancy. Effective birth control should be practiced while using Purinethol (Mercaptopurine). Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) should not be used during pregnancy unless the benefits outweigh the risks. If you become pregnant while you or your partner are taking Purinethol (Mercaptopurine), contact your doctor immediately.

Breast-feeding: Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) passes into breast milk. Because of the risks associated with Purinethol (Mercaptopurine), a decision should be made to cease breast-feeding or discontinue the medication, taking into account the importance of the medication to the mother. Women who are taking Purinethol (Mercaptopurine) should not breast-feed.

Seniors: Seniors may be more likely to experience side effects from Purinethol (Mercaptopurine). Discuss any concerns you have with your doctor.

Purinethol frequently asked questions

How To Buy Purinethol Online?

You can buy Purinethol online at PocketPills if you already have a valid prescription from your doctor. You can get started by uploading your prescription, ordering a refill by transferring any existing medications to our pharmacy or talking to one of our Canadian Doctors to get an online prescription. Get started now!

How To Get a Prescription for Purinethol?

You can consult a Canadian doctor online at pocketpills.com. Our physicians can prescribe medications online during your consultation. Once you receive a prescription, you'll have the option to have it delivered to your door in discreet packaging and at no additional cost!. Click here to get an online prescription today!

Can I Get Same-Day Delivery?

Yes! We do provide same-day delivery in select areas. We do next business day delivery and can also ship overnight as well.

How Much is Shipping Cost for Purinethol in Canada?

Shipping cost for Purinethol to you in Canada is zero. Pocketpills offers FREE shipping anywhere in Canada to help you get access to treatment.

How to get Purinethol delivered to my home?

You could get Purinethol delivered at your doorstep from us in Canada if you ordered prescription medications with a valid prescription. If you are not sure if we deliver to your area, contact us.

How to get Purinethol in Canada for free?

You can get Purinethol for free in Canada if your health insurance provider covers it fully. Contact your provider or us to help you find out if you qualify to get Purinethol for free.

Can I consult a doctor online to get Purinethol?

Yes. You can book a consultation online with a Canadian doctor here with us at PocketPills to see if you qualify for a prescription to order Purinethol.

Can I buy Purinethol without a prescription?

You need a valid prescription to buy Purinethol from us. Contact us if you need a prescription. One of our doctors can give you a telephone call at your convenience.

References

All material © 1996-2021 MediResource Inc. Terms and conditions of use. The contents herein are for informational purposes only. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health providers with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition.

Reading is good for you...

Reading about what's good for you is even better.

Type 1 and Type 2 Diabetes
All about Erectile Dysfunction (ED) Medications
How Effective Is Bupropion In Treating Seasonal Affective Disorder?

Related Drugs

Already a member?

Sign In
You're almost there!

Simply sign in to join
over 150,000 satisfied members:

or

+1

By proceeding, you agree to our Terms of Use & Privacy Policy. Message and data rates may apply.


Prefer to sign up over the phone?

Our care team can't wait to take your call!

 

Refill your Purinethol prescription 

You don't have to wait in line at the store to fill your prescriptions. You can have your doctor fax your prescription to them, input the details of your old pharmacy online, or take a picture of your prescription with the online pharmacy app.

Get an online prescription for Purinethol from a Canadian doctor now

Skip the waiting room! See a Canadian doctor online, for free and get treated for any common condition on your phone. 

*Note: Fully covered with a British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba or Ontario health card

Upload your Purinethol prescription

Upload a picture of your prescription(s), allowing us to receive an image of your prescription and begin the process of filling your prescription(s). However, we will require the original hard copy of your prescription to be sent to us in order to complete filling your prescription.